Shining Tor and Gun

Ed, VK2JI / DD5LP is in Germany and we had been exchanging emails about a summit to summit between UK and Germany while I was in the UK.  Shining Tor G/SP-004 was the summit I chose due to ease of access and the possibility of a SOTA complete after working 2E0YYY/P there from Australia previously. Ed had chosen DL/EW-001 as the German summit.  After parking on the side of the road where the track starts,  I headed up the track which is about 2km one way.

Track Start

Track Start

Its an easy walk although wet underfoot at the time I went. On arriving at the top I thought it best to set up the end  fed half wave for 40m away from the summit and found a suitable post about 100m past the summit near the track.  I chose an area where there was no wire on the fence posts in case they detuned the antenna.

The walking pole kept the hot end of the antenna raised, which seems to help with the match on 20m.

Nice Path

Nice Path

Antenna

Antenna

The_antenna_matched well on 40m, so spotted and gave a call.  There was no shortage of chasers.  While trading text messages with Ed, I made a few more contacts, but signals between Ed and myself were not good and there was a lot of adjacent splatter. I went to 20m and had an S2S with an S57 station and then had a text back from Ed nominating a 20m frequency.  I retuned to be greeted with an armchair copy from Ed peaking 5×7 and no other interference.  After a bit of a chat, I packed up and went back to the car.

It was about lunchtime at this stage and decided to skip lunch and head over to Gun G/SP-013.
Access to Gun is very straight forward, only about 600 metres off the road.

Track Start

Track Start

The Gun Summit

The Gun Summit

I thought I would try a 2 metre activation here, as there wasn’t a lot to tie the squid pole to.  It was quite breezy and the squid pole would need to be well braced.  After a spot on 2m, the summit was easily qualified.  A wall of rain was slowly getting closer, so after 10 contacts, I packed up and on cue, the rain came down.  It was a slippery jog back to the car.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shining Tor and Gun

  1. Pingback: FT-817 Batteries for Air Travel | VK3YY

  2. Andrew VK1AD says:

    Hi Glenn, Wx and time permitting, I hope to activate both summits on 21 May.

Leave a Reply

