CW Paddle for the KX2

I came across this KX2 paddle from the QRPGuys recently.  The price was right at USD 25.00, postage was USD 5.00, so quite a bit cheaper than the original one.  It’s made from soldered PCB material so it won’t be as robust, but it seems to work just fine so far.

It took about a week to arrive from ordering, I understand that they do their mailing on a Wednesday.

The instructions downloaded from the website were clear and straightforward, construction took about an hour.  Right at the start, it’s important to line up the PCB rear and sides nice and square before tacking together with solder.  Apart from that, the only fiddly bit was getting the screws, washers and spacers in place to hold the paddles in place.

At first it felt a but strange to use with the flexible paddles, but you get used to it pretty quickly.

I will report back when it has been used on a SOTA activation.  

It probably needs a cover for the paddles when it’s not in use to protect it from backpack rash.
For the moment, it is wrapped in some EPE foam.

This entry was posted in Projects, SOTA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to CW Paddle for the KX2

  1. VK3IL says:

    Glenn, I also bought one of these for my KX3. The main issue I have is where to keep the thumb screws so I don’t lose them! Any thoughts on this?

    • vk3yy says:

      Yes, I was thinking exactly the same thing! Maybe a couple of small circlips on the radio side of the thumbscrews to hold them captive?

  2. Paul Taylor says:

    Thanks for reporting, I have considered this unit. I saw this 3D printed paddle from Ben Hennessy on VK-Homebrew (f) the other day (hope this URL works):

    • vk3yy says:

      Hi Paul, Also saw the 3D printed one from Ben. That design originates from Thingyverse where the source files can be downloaded if you want to print one. It looks interesting. There are a few other paddles on Thingyverse as well, Google “Thingyverse morse”. Cheers.

  3. Steve says:

    These are (were) something of a bargain and indeed very good. I have no idea why the manufacturer has discontinued the whole range. I use tiny bits of silicone tube to retain the screws, but then you have to figure out what to do with the little offcuts of tubing when using the key! I note that Elecraft is prescriptive regarding the relative locations of the two different attachment screws on the KXPD2 (at least on the KX2?) and wonder whether the QRP Guys screws address that requirement properly? I soon found that repeated insertion and removal of the interface plug on my KX3 was stressing the morse key’s connector’s PCB right-angled leads, so I covered the whole plug with JB Weld. Just as well there was no conductivity through the JB Weld …
    Thank you for this wonderful oasis of a website, I’m now fired up with your 2M transverter project!
    Steve, G4VRR.

    • vk3yy says:

      The key has lasted a while now in the pack and hasn’t had any special treatment, not sure why they don’t make them anymore. Predictably, I have lost one of the screws, good idea on the tube. Cheers, Glenn.

Leave a comment